A HUMBLE ROMANCE by MARY E. WILKINS FREEMAN

1001 Classic Short Stories & Tales

03-04-2024 • 46 mins

A tin merchant on his country route stops at a farmhouse owned by a woman who keeps an adopted daughter as a poorly treated maid and housekeeper. The man feels sorry for the beaten down little wretch and, after pledging he will take care of her for the rest of her life, asks her to run away with him, which, after short consideration, she does. Another great New England story from Mary E. Wilkins Freeman.

An unknown narrator describes his ferry ride across a river in Russia to attend an Easter Eve service at a Russian Church. This story offers a great example of Chekhov's ability to create powerful imagery as well as carry a compelling narrative.

APPLE .USERS

New! 1001 True Stories with Brian Tremblay https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-true-stories-with-brian-tremblay/id1726451725

Catch 1001 Stories From The Old West- https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-stories-from-the-old-west/id1613213865

Catch 1001's Best of Jack London- https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-best-of-jack-london/id1656939169

Catch 1001 Radio Crime Solvers- https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-radio-crime-solvers/id1657397371

Catch 1001 Heroes, Legends, Histories & Mysteries on Apple

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-heroes-legends-histories-mysteries-podcast/id956154836?mt=2

Catch 1001 Classic Short Stories at Apple Podcast

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-classic-short-stories-tales/id1078098622

Catch 1001 Stories for the Road at Apple Podcast now:

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-stories-for-the-road/id1227478901

Enjoy 1001 Greatest Love + Life Stories on Apple Devices here:

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-greatest-love-stories/id1485751552

Catch 1001 RADIO DAYS now at Apple iTunes! https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-radio-days/id1405045413?mt=2

Enjoy 1001 Sherlock Holmes Stories and The Best of Arthur Conan Doyle https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-sherlock-holmes-stories-best-sir-arthur-conan/id1534427618

1001 History's Best Storytellers at Apple Podcast https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-historys-best-storytellers/id1483649026

1001 Ghost , Chiller & Lovecraft https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/1001-ghost-chiller-lovecraft-stories/id1516332327

8043

ANDROID USERS-

1001 True Stories with Brian Tremblay https://open.spotify.com/episode/1EOZTL42pg0szYdYV7mwMC?si=SCPAOiSgQiyo0ZSO_OFDyw&nd=1&dlsi=012b3f28347743d5

1001 Stories For the Road at Spotify= https://open.spotify.com/show/6FhlsxYFTGNPiSMYxM9O9K

1001's Best of Jack London at Spotify https://open.spotify.com/show/2HzkpdKeWJgUU9rbx3NqgF

1001 Classic Short Stories & Tales at Spotify https://open.spotify.com/show/6rzDb5uFdOhfw5X6P5lkWn

1001 Heroes, Legends, Histories & Mysteries at Spotify https://open.spotify.com/show/6rO7HELtRcGfV48UeP8aFQ

1001 Sherlock Holmes Stories & The Best of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle at Spotify https://open.spotify.com/show/4dIgYvBwZVTN5ewF0JPaTK

Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

You Might Like